Log Entries

August, 2019

August 28, 2019

(9:54 PM EST)

August 24, 2019

(12:19 AM EST) So, I hurt my back (a slipped disc. Hooray!) trying to configure the Linux NVIDIA drivers back in early July. I'm not even kidding. Gave up on getting my dual monitor setup to work with a DisplayPort-to-VGA adapter because it wasn't picking up the EDID for my monitor. So I reached for a DVI cable on the floor next to me and, long story short, couldn't sit down, lay down, or stand (for more than a few minutes at a time, each) for several weeks and spent over a month already doing physical therapy. I solved the issue with my monitors though, at least.

About a month of that time I couldn't spend much time working on my computer. So there's not much that I have to show here.

Well, I made a low-poly VRChat avatar. It's a Braixen with a Halloween look. The video below is in Unity but not VRChat -- a first test of the model outside of Blender.

(12:29 AM EST) Re-baked some textures in an old model of the Temple of Hopes from Battlestar Galactica.

I also made a shitty Roman villa looking model and duct taped the chat to it.

(12:40 AM EST) So another weird thing I've started doing is making photogrammetry scans of small VRChat worlds, then applying style transfer to the result. Here's someone's Miku shrine (and a WebVR world of the style transferred version). The style transferred texture removed too many details so I combined it with the original texture in GIMP.

August 23, 2019

(~11:30 PM EST) Updating my site template to simplify this, and making the old logs load as you click them rather than all at once...

(11:58 PM EST) Finished updating the site. If you're one of the few people who clicked this page while it was being updated, you'll probably have to Ctrl+F5 to reload the cached javascript.